top of page
Writer's pictureBenedict Chia

Restarting Blogging

Updated: Sep 21, 2022

During my first month with NUS, I had some interesting conversations with our TEL-EVs. On one session, Alan recommended me to check out Open Networked Learning (ONL). In a nutshell, the ONL project was created to support and advance the use of digital tools for teaching and learning. Its uniqueness is that educational developers from around the world will sign up to network and learn from one another. Definitely useful in supporting your professional development as an TEL educator.


One of ONL’s pre-requisites was that participants need to share their reflections via their own blog. That got me panicking a bit as I haven’t really blogged much. However, I do see value in doing reflection via blogging. So I am treating it as an opportunity to unlearn and relearn new habits.

Coincidentally, I had just read a book “Atomic Habits” by James Clear at the time. It shared several insights into how we can engineer our environment to create habits that otherwise we thought impossible. From setting simple, achievable goals, then ramping it up over time, to having visual cues, setting routines, etc.


All of which are so simple but actually rather effective. I used it with some success to start and maintain a weekly jogging routine. If you don’t have time to pick up the book, this YouTube video summarizes it pretty well too.


Naturally, I employed these techniques to help kick start a new blogging habit. So, I self-imposed the following rules:

  • x1 blog post biweekly. To increase frequency to weekly after 30 days.

  • Set aside Saturday afternoon to reflect on the past week and write a blog post about it.

  • To review progress every 30, 60 & 90 days (just in time for the September 2022 ONL cohort).

With this post, I kick start my new blogging journey. Check back again in 30, 60 & 90 days time.


Benedict Chia

07 May 2022


(Updated, 16 Aug 22: I am glad to share that I managed to stick to this new routine. The 3 post below under "Recent" posts are from my 30th, 60th and 90th day.)

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page