top of page
Writer's pictureBenedict Chia

360 Web Tours

Updated: Sep 21, 2022

One of the perks of joining NUS is its many bite-sized training that are offered virtually. I had always wondered about 360 degree videos (Thanks Tom Nickel for piquing my interest!), so signed up for it when I learned about NUS’s jumpstart minis.


My first jumpstart-mini experience

online workshop via MS Teams
online workshop via MS Teams

Our senior librarian, Ms Raudahah, was a very natural host. She was able to keep learners engaged. It helped that readings and instructions were shared (via MS Teams) a week prior to class. During class, other librarians helped with the queries coming in while Raudahah focused on facilitation. This brought back some fond memories of when I assisted our TTSH Allied Health colleagues in their zoom workshops for AIC.


Creating 360 degree web tours is not as complicated as I assumed. With the right tools and proper training, anyone can do it. Hosting it on Github and editing it via CSS is a little tedious, but it should get simpler over time.


During the workshop, we were introduced to 360 degree cameras (e.g. GoPro fusion) as well as smart phone apps that could take 360 degree photos. Being a cheapskate, I took the latter option.


Over the weekend, I went around the neighbourhood and took many 360 photos using the mobile app recommended during the workshop. I would later find out that unless I unlock the premium features, the photos will not be in the “2:1” ratio or spherical setting that is required by Mazipano.


To get around this, I used photopea to crop & resize my 360 pano images. While I was able to get the photos to work with Mazipano, this method greatly reduced my image’s dimensions and resulted in a very scrunched up 360 image, not really a full 360 panoramic image. You can see the unsatisfying end product below.

Did some additional research and found that I could either add borders at top/bottom, or combine 3 panos to form a large Triptych. However, both approaches require some additional photoshop skill that I currently do not possess. So, I wrote to the instructor for advice.


Real world applications


Below are some use cases to help you better visualise how this technology can be used in real world settings.

  • Use case 1: Web tours in the area of real estate

First thing that came to mind was how practical this skill would be for real estate agents. By creating a 360 web tour, it allows buyers and sellers to preview units before evening making the actual trip down. This technology gives viewers a fully immersive experience.


The examples below feature flats at Pinnacle@Duxton. Both give you a sense of the place but different ways of navigating. Try it out to experience it for yourself.

For real estate agents who cannot bring clients to see the flat, this is a great way to allow potential customers to get a sense of how the place looks before even going down. Also, would this not be a cooler way of showing off your listing on Airbnb?


  • Use case 2: Getting around campus

For a new overseas student, attending university is going to be a daunting challenge. Stepping into a new place where everything is foreign can be intimidating. It made me wonder how much faster I would have adapted if I had a chance to familiarise myself with Utah State University prior to flying 8,856 miles from Singapore to Logan, Utah.


Similarly, foreign students joining NUS are now able to use these web tours to familiarise themselves with the varsity resources. If they attend this workshop, they can even make 360 videos of where they stay, hang-out, etc. and share it with their family back home. So many possibilities!


What’s next?

As a tech-enhanced learning advocate, picking up these types of skill allows me to better support faculty members in co-creating virtual environments (virtual school field trips) that can enhance teaching and learning. Side benefit is that this skill can also be used for social activities like family holidays, etc.


I find it so cool that the NUS library is now offering many virtual, bite-sized workshops that teach cool tech tips. During my time as a NUS student, such services did not exist. Sour grapes? You bet! :p


Lastly, share with you another lobang... its FOC to loan out the 360 degree cameras if you are a NUS staff/student. Don't say bojio... #fomo


Now that I am back at NUS, I savor these new learning opportunities & more. While we wait for the cameras, why not check out the other Jumpstart minis workshops?


Benedict Chia

21 May 2022


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

> Update (03 June 2021): I loaned out the GoPro fusion, mount & tripod and had fun with them at Sky Park Observation Deck. It was great!


> Update (02 June 2021): Icing on the cake... got my first digital badge from NUS today!

My first digital badge from NUS.
My first digital badge from NUS

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page